Board Appointments

Board Appointments

To view current postings, click here.

Ottawa County Insurance Authority

The Ottawa County, Michigan Insurance Authority (Authority) assumes financial and operational responsibility for all matters relating to risk retention, risk management, and insurance coverage (except employee benefits) for the County, including its departments and agencies, and the Ottawa County Building Authority. By contract with the Authority, the Administrative Services Department manages the day-to-day insurance and risk management activities for the Authority. The Authority continues to be a unique risk financing mechanism in the State of Michigan. Most other public entities, including counties, obtain coverage from one of two risk-sharing pools, the pool operated by the Michigan Municipal League, primarily for townships, villages, and smaller cities, and the Michigan Municipal Risk Management Authority. The Authority shall be accomplished through the exercise of the powers of Participating Public Entities jointly in the creation of a separate self-insurance program. The Authority is not an insurer or insurance company under the law of the State of Michigan. The Authority also has the power to enter into contracts, hold and dispose of real and personal property, defend and settle claims, and pay invoices.


Joe Moss, Chairperson of Bd of Commissioners (BC)
Jon Anderson, County Administrator (A)
Sylvia Rhodea, County Commissioner at Large (BC)
Cheryl Clark, County Treasurer (EO)
Gretchen Cosby, Finance Committee Chairperson (BC)
Gary Rosema, OC Building Authority Representative (BC)

For additional information about the Ottawa County Insurance Authority, please contact Karen Karasinski.