MiOttawa Banner Online Service Center
Board Appointments

Board Appointments

To view current postings, click here.

Ottawa County Board of Canvassers

The Ottawa County Board of Canvassers is responsible for certifying election results by reviewing election material from each election to ensure the votes tally correctly, forms are properly filled out, and all signatures are in place. The Board of Canvassers is also responsible for other duties in accordance with election matters such as recounts and certifying ballot containers. This Board is required by statue 168.822. It is comprised of 4 members (2 Republicans and 2 Democrats) that are nominated by the political parties and are appointed by the County Board of Commissioners. Members of this Board serve rotating 4 year terms, and meet at the Fillmore Administrative Complex by 9am on the Thursday following an election and on an as needed basis. If you are interested in learning more about the Board of Canvassers, please contact the elections division of the County Clerk/Register of Deeds office at elections@miottawa.org or (616) 994-4535.


Chris Kostamo, Democratic Appointment
James Searls, Democratic Appointment
Lloyd Van Duyn, Republican Appointment
Laurie Breuker, Republican Appointment

For additional information about the Ottawa County Board of Canvassers, please contact Elections Division of the County Clerk's Office.